DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE. The Case of Jackie Saburido


dont-drink-and-drive

Jacqueline Saburido was hit by a drunk driver in Austin, Texas.
She was pinned inside the vehicle as it caught on fire, leaving her with
severe burns over 60 percent of her body. Her life was changed forever.

Please.. Do Not Drink and Drive.
If your friends try to drive after drinking, have the courage to stop them.

This post includes several pictures of Jacqueline Saburido, a pretty girl who, according to the eRumor, was in a vehicle struck by a drunk driver in 1999 and was burned beyond recognition.

The story is true and heart-wrenching.
Jacqui was a student from Venezuela who had come to the U.S. to study English.
On September 19, 1999, 20-year-old Jacqui was in a car with four other friends on the outskirts of Austin, Texas when they were hit by an 18-year-old high school boy on his way home from drinking with some friends.
The car in which Jacqui was riding caught fire.
Two of her friends died.
She survived, but with burns over more than 60 percent of her body.
Nobody thought she would survive.
She lost her hair, her nose, her ears, he left eyelid and much of her vision.
Her fingers were amputated.
She’s become a spokesperson against drunk driving.

Jackie before the accident.
Jackie before the accident.

Jacqueline Saburido has no nose or ears, limited vision, stubs for fingers and constant pain. But she survived the fiery wreck in 1999 that killed two friends on Austin’s RM 2222. She has come a long way since last summer, when she still struggled to do basic tasks such as wipingher face. In her home hangs a wooden crucifix carved by an aunt, one of many signs of faith she keeps near.

The skin on Jacqui’s head is stretched taut across her skull and breaks very easily, requiring frequent treatment and bandaging. She feels as if she is growing up again, she says, except she doesn’t know whether she ever will. ‘In reality, I’ve been born again, and so it’s like I died. I’ve lived all the stages of a baby,’ she says.

“Do not prove your manhood by how much you can drink. Wine has been the ruin of many.”

SIRACH 31:25 (TEV)

18 thoughts on “DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE. The Case of Jackie Saburido

  1. perdon lo que te paso jackie hojala que te compongas y no te des por vencida en la vida,porque la vida sigue y tu puedes okay cuidate y que dios te bendige te quiero much aunque no te conosco okay

  2. Lo siento por lo tanto de lo sucedido a usted Jackie. En mi clase de inglés hablábamos sobre los efectos nocivos que vienen con conducir embriagado y surgió de su historia. Yo pido a Dios para usted:)

  3. I am so sorry for her. She must be in so much pain beyond what I can amagin. May God be with her. I hope for the best for her. I wish I could help her. She is a role model.

  4. Hey wow sorry tht looks like a terrible accident. Im glad ur going out and haing speeches against drunk driving hopefully u stop ppl from driving drunk. Ur a wonderful Person

  5. Dear Jacqui..
    I know that you are so much in pain, but you are a very strong person. And i know that God loves you so much, so you may become a inspiring person in somebody’s life. Keep fighting girl! We all love you… 🙂

    • If anyone knows how to get contact information for Jacqui Saburido can you please forward it to me. I have invented a prosthetic process that can give her back her face. I can restore it to is original state using just one of her pictures. Also please contact me at http://www.WomenWarriorFoundation.com we supply medical prosthetics to wounded veterans and acid attack victims. Please e-mail me at Brettw@socal.rr.com

  6. I have heard about your story many times, and each time it seems so unbelieavable, and unfair. No one knows why certain bad things happen, but we must have faith. Do you have a fund in which helps out with your medical recovery? I don’t think I’ve ever heard of one for you, but if there is one please provide it to me.

  7. awww:( IM verry sorry yu are a rolemodel…. dang i wonder how yoyu can do it ?… god bless<3

  8. hello j
    i just read ur story today i was crying by the time it end u are so brave and beautiful and i meant that u may not on the outside but inside u have a beautifull heart and soul and thats what realy matter. i pray for u everyday keep going and have a good luck .god bless u

  9. i hope God watches over you and protect you, to me i dont think life is fair, you are really strong because i dont htink i will be able to be as strong as you are, may God be with you and if you think anything is going wrong just pray to God he will help you.

  10. espero que te recuperes jakie eres una mujer muy fuerte haciesque recuerda
    que dios nos va a levantar y vamos a hacer muy perfectos vas ha volver a la normalidad
    espero que sigas bien
    🙂

  11. If only one person can learn from your tragedy it will go some way to making sense of it. I can only wonder at the strength of character you and people like you have. Thank you for all you are doing to make people aware of their responsibilities to others.

  12. Dear Jacqui, I want to start of by saying you are my role model. You are great. I’m in grade nine and I was doing an assignment about drink and driving when I came across your website. It was heart touching and hurtful. I can’t believe god would let something like this happen to you. I am not trying to put you done I am proud that you are now supporting against dirnk and driving. When we see all the bad people in this world we believe that there is no hope, but when seeing people like you we believe in our selves again. Your parents should be really proud of you. God bless you. I will fight against drink and driving my self because I have lost someone really close to me. Thank you. god bless you.

  13. hi jackie. Ive been trying to make contact with you so i hope you get this message. Your story is a true testament of indestructable will power and spirit . you have bore more than most people can ever comprehend and still you choose to keep going. You are beutiful beyond measure. I exstend to you my love and appreciation for the strength you give to me and others. I would be honored to hear from you. God bless you sweetie!

  14. the man who hit this beautiful lady should be put in jail for life. no questions asked. drinking and driving is unacceptable and anyone who does it should and will eventually be punished.

  15. i am soo sorry about what happen 😦 but u are an amazing person who is going strong 🙂 u have touched many people including me . honestly u have gave me inspiration ❤

    god bless and always know that he is with you 🙂

  16. Pingback: pictures of jacqueline saburido

Leave a Reply

