SHE CHOSE GOD


What’s so important with the recent Miss Universe that merits my time and effort to write an article about it?  First, a sense of pride of my being a Filipino and second (and I think the best thing) a sense of pride of my being a Christian – of my being a Christian in this “post-Christian” world (as what liberals and atheists would assert).

But allow me to expound more about this pride of being a Christian. Shamcey’s answer to Vivica Fox’s question is a slap on the face of seculars who consider religious conviction a kind of foolishness and a testimony to the religious that foolishness for God is a kind of wisdom. At best, it is a strong proof that the Philippines is still a nation under God. While liberal Americans are carrying the fight to wean God from human experience, the Philippines is carrying the fight to wean human experience from ungodliness. And how moving it was to hear Shamcey’s answer and to know it wasn’t a product of second thoughts.

Fox: “Would you change your religious beliefs to marry the person you love? Why or why not? “

Shamcey: ” If I had to change my religious beliefs, I will not marry the person that I love. Because the first person that I love is GOD who created me. And I have my faith and my principles. And these what makes me who I am. And if that person loves me, he should love my God too, Thank you.

It was a very good answer and a confident one. Even Oprah Winfrey had her reservations with the result, for while other contestants break on seconds to think of their answers, Shamcey answered straight to the point. I don’t care if Oprah didn’t see the God-value in her (Shamcey) answer, but at best it would be consoling enough to know that she had another way of looking at things, and in this case the best way of looking at things. I tried to look at the religious background of the judges, if they can’t see the winning factor I’ve mentioned above, then it must be this factor that hinders the win. However, I can’t find substantial information as to this matter. I might be bias here and this could be debatable, I’m just trying to express my case. If it’s not in the manner of her answer, could it be that most of the judges don’t agree with her answer? Five of the judges are Americans – a country gradually following liberalist trend, an Italian – part of secular Europe, and one judge Connie Chung herself was a convert to Judaism when she married her husband – very opposite to Shamcey’s I-will-not-change-my-religion principle. An answer such as given by Shamcey will not appeal to people who are more oriented to freedom of choice than religious conviction. And I think that the answer the judges wanted to hear is to affirm that we should be free to choose instead of be strangled by our conviction.

So you can argue with me on this, I’m willing to take it. Anyway, the event ended with Ms. Philippines as 3rd Runner Up. I’m not asking the judges to revert their decision. I’m just asking Shamcey to continue her conviction. After all, the answer she gave was the answer I’ve always longed to hear.

And a million congratulations to you Miss Universe 3rd Runner Up Shamcey Supsup!

2 thoughts on “SHE CHOSE GOD

  1. Your idea is like me.But I am just a guy standing at the door ever clesod.It is my real life.I feel sadness when I read your this post.But it is ended by her sharp words.Thank you,anyway.

Leave a Reply

